20120910-072723 PM.jpg

Today, the 10th of September, is World Suicide Prevention day and my post is in honour of it. The suicide rates have increased tremendously in most parts of the world.
According to WHO there are twenty people who have a failed suicide attempt for every one that is successful, at a rate approximately one every three seconds.
Suicide is the “most common cause of death for people aged 15 – 24, mostly young people who have just begin living.
Brian Mishara, IASP president, noted that, “more people kill themselves than die in all wars, terrorist acts and interpersonal violence combined.”
Why do we all want to take our lives for the most simplest issue? Why do we want to give up in the hard times while knowing that there are going to be good times ahead?
And the things that we might feel are mountains today, might turn out to be mere molehills by tomorrow.

Those who read my previous post, “High school survival guide”, might know that I had a really bad sophomore year at high school. What happened to me wasn’t as bad as what happened to many others, but for me, it hurt a lot. ( It is such a long story that it could be considered as a post on its own. Maybe I’ll write about it someday)
Anyway, at that time, I was depressed and had many suicidal thoughts. But, help came from an unexpected place. From my mother. She was the one told me (in her rather harsh way) to picture my own funeral and to picture all those who will mourn my death, at any time I felt suicidal. Apparently sensing those peoples’ grief, I would regain my will to live.
She also told me that if I thought no one will mourn for me presently, at least picture a future funeral, after achieving my dreams.
And to live at least for the sake of dreams.
And I did come out of depression and I regained the will to live. And I don’t regret it. Somedays, when I feel I am sort of relapsing, I remember my mother’s words and vow to stay strong.
I never actually attempted suicide, but I was almost on the brink of it. And I am glad that I wasn’t weak to succumb to it.
I am a fighter and I am proud to be one.
If any one of you is thinking about suicide, I beg you please do not. Think of those who love you and care about you. And I am sure there will be at least one, even a pet animal. At least for their sake, don’t do it.
Nowadays, there are also many helpline numbers to which you can call for help. It is okay to ask for help.
You only get a chance to live once. Make sure you do just that.

P.S. If anyone here is having suicidal thoughts and need to speak to somebody, know that I am here to help you. Just drop a line at my public email, sunsandstarsanddreams@gmail.com

