Just this last Thursday, I had a sort of sudden revelation or an epiphany of sorts.
It was just this.
We cannot classify everyone as either totally good or totally bad. Or, as Sirius Black put it, “We’ve all got both light and dark inside us. What matters is the part we chose to act on. That’s who we truly are.” ( Yay! A Harry Potter reference!)

So, on Wednesday, I was feeling down. We had a programme-like thing at school, sometime way towards the end of October.
And I wanted to audition for the speeches. But, the teacher-in-charge of it, just told me that I wasn’t presentable enough to appear in front of the audience and also that I apparently had too soft a voice and told me that I was to be assigned to some backstage duties.

I was fuming. How could she just tell me off like that! I mean, she never heard me speak in front of an audience. Then how could she know whether I was good or bad at it?
About presentable, did she mean that I wasn’t good-looking? Fine, I have really unmanageably bushy hair and a chubby face. So what? What mattered more, talent for public speaking or just looking pretty but being afraid of the audience?
I know that I can speak quite adequately in front an audience. I don’t get nervous and fidgety.
And about my voice. Normally, I have a soft voice. (Unless I yell) I know that and I can’t change it and I don’t want to change it either. I even remember that once, my French teacher in Year 10, had told me that my voice was so sweet that she wouldn’t get bored of listening to it, even if I was talking nonsense for ages. But, that might have also been because she was so absolutely sweet.

But, what hurt me most was that the teacher who actually told me all this, was someone I actually thought was nice, good, someone I thought I respected and liked.

Then, the next day, a Thursday was yet another day of surprises.
There was this another teacher, who was generally thought to be weird, moody and irritable. Since it was the last class before the weekend, she said that she wasn’t going to teach because she felt tired.
Hesitantly, I asked her that I didn’t get a few questions in calculus and asked her if she could please explain it to me.
And she actually explained quite a few questions in calculus and cleared my doubts and even explained some more extra questions.
And the even more strange part was that, when I thanked her for actually explaining it so well to me, she smiled so widely and told me that I was quite smart and also to not let anyone else lower my self-confidence.
Note that this was one teacher who was almost always bitter, and someone who was disliked by many.
I still don’t know what to think about those two episodes.
But, whatever it was, the second one made my day! :’)

Edit: This post was supposed to be published around two days back. But, due to my lack of knowledge about the new WordPress app for iOS 7, I muddled it up and it got published as a password-protected file.
And I didn’t know how to change it.
So, I deleted that post and reposted it again today. 🙂

