Hello there!

I am back after a terrible attack of writer’s block, coupled with finals and just some general health problems. Nothing major, but quite tiresome indeed.

At the place I live, summer has started. This year has turned out to be especially hot and humid.

With summer comes the rush for finding summer jobs and/or internships. However, with India being a bit too obsessed with nepotism and what sort of influence/recommendation you can bring with you, finding summer jobs are not exactly a walk in the park.

But, by constantly pestering them and creating a general nuisance of myself, I managed to get an internship with a reputed NGO working for child rights. I loved the job at first, thinking that I am creating a change in the lives of underprivileged children et al. But, a week into the job, I was asked to do rather tedious work, which totally did not reap any sort of benefit: either to the children or to myself. Besides, it was unpaid. So, I quit the job.

Call me a spoilt brat, but the main reason I wanted to do a summer job or work part-time was because I do not want to be dependent on my parents’ money. I might stand to inherit it, but it is always my parents’ fortune.

I guess that this part might sound a bit confusing to almost everyone other than Indians or other South Asians. But, Indian parents do believe that it is their responsibility to bring up their children, educate them, and incur all the expenses related to their children’s education, living, and even marriage. That essentially means that most Indian kids grow up with their parents willing to pay for all their expenses well into their twenties.

As a matter of fact, I have met a certain ex-neighbour of mine, whose father paid for his medical degree, and then a Master’s degree in medicine. Then, he expected his father to buy him a brand new luxury sedan because that was expected of his in his new status as a doctor.

Well, you might think that I am exaggerating, but it is one hundred percent true.

But, that is not what I wish to do.

My parents are always there for me, as they keep assuring me. But, there is some independent streak in me, which makes me want to earn and use that money for my further needs.

Yes, I am in an undergraduate business school and my parents are paying for it. But, what I wish to pursue after this is not something that my parents totally approve. So, maybe it is just a whim, but I want to work and fund my further education. I guess it is just that when you expect your parents to do everything and pay for it all, you can’t really fault them about not letting you do what you wished to.

Up next:  A lack of choices in India when it comes to education, career or any sort of life decision.

Is it the same in your part of the world? Do you believe that parents should be responsible for their children till they are way into their 20s?

